G33K [email protected] All your geek questions are belong to us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
Wireless Internet Questions?

Okay guys…I need some help regarding wireless internet. Basically…I’m in the dark! Hahaha. All of my involvement with wireless stuff has been extremely limited! I have always been a cable guy. Plug it in, it works, I’m done. But I’d like to move some of my stuff around, computer, xbox 360, etc. Currently I have a Motorola wireless cable modem. The cable goes into the modem, and then I run an Ethernet cable from the modem to a Linksys router. Then from the router I run an Ethernet cable to my computer, and one to my xbox 360. My computer does not have a wireless card. I ordered it about a year ago and thought “Eh…I don’t need wireless.” Should have known right. So I think the solution to my mobility problem is a wireless card for my computer. That way I can move my cable modem and xbox 360. If I buy a wireless card, can I then protect my wireless connection so other people can’t use it? The only decive I have that has wifi built in is my iphone. And it selects my wireless network just fine, but it's not protected. Now a days pretty much any wireless connection is protected and I'd like to do that also. Sorry guys…I’m pretty worthless in this area. I really appreciate the help.

:comperror
2000750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 11:44 AM
No Crying Allowed
 
R1Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 20,229
   
There are many ways to set this up...

tell us what you want on wireless and what you want on a hard wired connection.

I'm a little confused why you are running two routers though? You say you have a wireless cable modem, if so you will also have a router built into it.

Maybe post up some model numbers so we know you are working with also.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R1Lover is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
Well...I guess I don't have a real preference as to what is hard wired and what is wireless. I would like to move the xbox into another room with a better setup, but the xbox wireless adaptor is about $100 and I'm not even sure if I go that route that it will work seeing as how I just have a wireless cable modem and have done absolutely nothing as far as setting up a wireless network. So I figure it would be better to upgrade the computer to wireless and then move the modem along with the xbox to a different room. This way I still just run an ethernet line to the xbox.

This is the modem that I'm using - http://broadband.motorola.com/consum...oducts/sbg900/

Then I run an ethernet cable from that modem to this router - http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...name=US/Layout (this link doesn't seem to be working. The linksys part number for the router is BEFSR41)

Then from the router I run one ethernet line to the computer (because it does not have wireless) and one ethernet line to the xbox 360. I did this because it was the only way I knew how to connect both the pc and xbox up using one internet connection.

Last edited by 2000750; 09-30-2007 at 12:09 PM.
2000750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 02:40 PM
don't read this
 
rinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Morrison, CO
Posts: 16,356
   
Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
You have your cable modem connected to your router and your router is not wireless capable so you need to do 1 of 2 things...


1. You either need a new router that has wireless Click Here

or

2. Get a wireless access point to plug into your router. Click Here


After that Linksys has a walk through on how to setup a secured wireless network.


Then you will need the wireless adapter for your 360 if you want to set that up and then one for your laptop if you want to set that up.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I don't like your jerk off name, I don't like your jerk off face, I don't like your jerk off behavior, and I don't like you...... jerk off!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rinn is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
So how does the WAP connect to my current router? Via an ethernet cable? Another cable? Seems as it would be a better choice to just replace the modem with a new wireless modem/router as in the first link.

But either way that still doesn't solve the issue if I move the modem/router away from the computer. I still need a wireless card to install in the computer correct?
2000750 is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 08:57 PM
don't read this
 
rinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Morrison, CO
Posts: 16,356
   
Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000750 View Post
So how does the WAP connect to my current router? Via an ethernet cable? Another cable? Seems as it would be a better choice to just replace the modem with a new wireless modem/router as in the first link.

But either way that still doesn't solve the issue if I move the modem/router away from the computer. I still need a wireless card to install in the computer correct?
WAP is the method of securing your wireless network. I use WEP it's supposed to be more secure and I think Apple products don't connect to WAP.. but I'm not sure.


The wireless access point connects via an ethernet cable to one of the ports on your router that you have already..

Easiest way to set it up IMO would be get a new router that is already wireless ready.

I have the Linksys WRT54GX2. and then you do need a wireless card for your laptop Like This

XBOX 360 Wireless Adapter for your XBOX.

And then you are all set up.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I don't like your jerk off name, I don't like your jerk off face, I don't like your jerk off behavior, and I don't like you...... jerk off!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rinn is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
I do not have a laptop though. The wireless card will be for my PC.

PS - I'll hit you up next time I see you on Live.
2000750 is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:08 PM
don't read this
 
rinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Morrison, CO
Posts: 16,356
   
Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
Oh it's easy too with a Desktop I set it up at the office for our sales guy just add this

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=5435839789B08


And that will be wireless if you need it to be if not just get the USB one for you 360



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I don't like your jerk off name, I don't like your jerk off face, I don't like your jerk off behavior, and I don't like you...... jerk off!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rinn is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
Right on man...

Looks like I need to buy a new router and a wireless card then huh!
2000750 is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:23 PM
don't read this
 
rinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Morrison, CO
Posts: 16,356
   
Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
Ya depending on what you want to do.. Are you wanting to setup your Desktop and 360 to wireless and use your IPhone?



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I don't like your jerk off name, I don't like your jerk off face, I don't like your jerk off behavior, and I don't like you...... jerk off!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rinn is offline  
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
I don't have any real set requirments. I just want the option to have the PC, Xbox, Phone in ANY room and get online.
2000750 is offline  
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 09:35 PM
don't read this
 
rinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Morrison, CO
Posts: 16,356
   
Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
Ya then just get a new router, wireless card for your comp, and the adapter for the 360 and you are good to go. I don't know if the 360 adapter is that good I use my friends Game Adapter that works really well and it's about the same price as the Microsoft one on Newegg.. Nice thing about this is you can plug it into just about anything if needs be WGA54G



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I don't like your jerk off name, I don't like your jerk off face, I don't like your jerk off behavior, and I don't like you...... jerk off!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rinn is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 10:31 AM
Gang Green
 
GreenEnvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,113
 
WAP is not a secruity method, do you mean WPA?
WPA is the prefered method for securing wireless.
WEP can be cracked in a fairly short time. WPA still takes a good while.

I'd suggest getting a wireless router, the Linksys WRT54G (called Linksys WirelessG) is a very popular and reliable router. Get one of those, and get either an internal wifi card for your PC, or a usb key wifi card.
Have your xbox hard wired as it will be cheaper to add wireless to the PC.

Make sure everything is 802.11g. Ignore 801.11n products, they might be junk in a year.
The iphone I think does support g. the linksys I mentioned is g, so make sure the card you get for the pc is also g.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GreenEnvy is offline  
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 10:57 AM
jimmy crack corn
 
macattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 846
 
please forgive my ignorance and sort of a dumb question but why do you need to secure the wireless ? is it to stop people from getting free internet or is there some other thing that has to have security?
macattack is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Crash Test Dummy
 
2000750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 648
 
Send a message via AIM to 2000750
Thanks for the additional input Green!

I think I will get a new router and wireless card for the pc and keep the Xbox wired. At this point the xbox doesn't need to be wireless and I'd actually rather not spend another $90 if I don't have to.

Hopefully the new router and WPA does not take a lot to get setup.

I have a preconceived notion that wireless is slower than wired. Is that true at all? I don't want to lose performance. That is why I've always hesitated to go wireless.

Also...any input on which PC wireless card I should look at?
2000750 is offline  
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 11:16 AM
No Crying Allowed
 
R1Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 20,229
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000750 View Post
Thanks for the additional input Green!

I think I will get a new router and wireless card for the pc and keep the Xbox wired. At this point the xbox doesn't need to be wireless and I'd actually rather not spend another $90 if I don't have to.

Hopefully the new router and WPA does not take a lot to get setup.

I have a preconceived notion that wireless is slower than wired. Is that true at all? I don't want to lose performance. That is why I've always hesitated to go wireless.

Also...any input on which PC wireless card I should look at?
A wired connection is always better and faster in general, but it all depends on what you are using it for. If it's just for web browsing you will be just fine with wireless.

I like all my stuff hard wired, unless there is no other choice like a laptop.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R1Lover is offline  
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 11:46 AM
we meat again
 
valerossi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LP's Bunghole
Posts: 14,712
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by macattack View Post
please forgive my ignorance and sort of a dumb question but why do you need to secure the wireless ? is it to stop people from getting free internet or is there some other thing that has to have security?
You want to prevent people from using your network to do something bad, at the same time you also want to encrypt/secure the data flowing in the air, especially credit card information or other important emails and stuff...



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

¤ più forte non si può . WLF viva la figa
¤ In 2006 I lost because of bad luck; I still won the most races and was the fastest on track for most of the time... Last year I was sorry that
after so many successful years, some people thought Valentino was finished and Casey was the new Valentino. ~ The Doctor '08
valerossi is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 11:53 AM
jimmy crack corn
 
macattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 846
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by valerossi View Post
You want to prevent people from using your network to do something bad, at the same time you also want to encrypt/secure the data flowing in the air, especially credit card information or other important emails and stuff...

thanks for the answer. I get it now.
macattack is offline  
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 12:00 PM
we meat again
 
valerossi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LP's Bunghole
Posts: 14,712
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000750 View Post
Thanks for the additional input Green!

I think I will get a new router and wireless card for the pc and keep the Xbox wired. At this point the xbox doesn't need to be wireless and I'd actually rather not spend another $90 if I don't have to.

Hopefully the new router and WPA does not take a lot to get setup.

I have a preconceived notion that wireless is slower than wired. Is that true at all? I don't want to lose performance. That is why I've always hesitated to go wireless.

Also...any input on which PC wireless card I should look at?
Like R1Lover stated, wired connection is always better and faster in general. Also, if you use the highest wireless security setup, for sure it will be slower than a non-secured wireless setup, your router and wireless card hardware can make a difference. Personally I also prefer my stuff wired unless I have no other choice.

For wireless security, try to use WPA2 if both your router and wireless card can support it.

As for hardware suggestion, personally I didn't have much good experiences with Linksys, but everyone has different experience, so my suggestion will be different than rinn and GreenEnvy's. I tried a few brands and I found D-Link products quite good and reliable, and I like their GUI and built-in features.

By the way, for wireless card, I would suggest you to get the same brand as your router. It's not a must, but I've seen cards that don't work well with a certain brands of router. The main reason is there are a few wireless chipsets out there, some will just work better with a certain routers than others.

:comperror


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

¤ più forte non si può . WLF viva la figa
¤ In 2006 I lost because of bad luck; I still won the most races and was the fastest on track for most of the time... Last year I was sorry that
after so many successful years, some people thought Valentino was finished and Casey was the new Valentino. ~ The Doctor '08
valerossi is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 10-01-2007, 04:58 PM
Gang Green
 
GreenEnvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,113
 
The encryption protects both your bandwidth, so you don't have someone slowing you down, and also protects you legally to an extend. If you have wide open wireless, and someone pulls up to the curb in front of your house and start surfing illegal porn, that will show up as coming from your account.

Speed wise, the g wireless (802.11g) is rated upto 54mgbs, in real life you probably see more like 25-30mbps. Wired is rated at 100 or 1000mbps, but again you see maybe 60% of that.
Your internet connection is only going to be 3-10mbps, so for surfing,you really shouldn't notice a difference. If you are transfering files between two computers in your own house, then wired will give better performance, but for internet, no.

I like linksys because their hardware tends to be open source, meaning they release the firmware to the public to modify. there are some cool custom firware's out there that add all sorts of features to the linksys routers. they usually are linux based.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GreenEnvy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sport Bike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Network problems Slickpitt G33K [email protected] 27 09-06-2007 09:43 AM
Wireless Network Noob Q's AZScorpion G33K [email protected] 8 11-20-2006 09:07 AM
Closed thread dontpntpool G33K [email protected] 5 08-22-2006 06:46 PM
XBOXlive and wireless korrupt1 G33K [email protected] 1 07-31-2005 08:57 AM
Help with DSL wireless modem/router and Linksys router daotan G33K [email protected] 5 06-29-2005 09:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome