G33K [email protected] All your geek questions are belong to us.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
Ubuntu Server and Firefox

I installed Ubuntu Server because I want to learn the CLI. However I would like to be able to surf once in a while. Is there a way to install/launch Firefox from the CLI? You know then surf around in the Firefox GUI and then exit back to the CLI when I am done looking at porn...I mean info about Linux?
daotan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 09:43 AM
doomsday machine
 
shagzomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,971
   
If you're not running X, you'll need to in order to run firefox. You can start terminals within X as well, if you want to do cli stuff.

If you want to be superl337, you can use a text-mode browser like lynx from cli....but then you wouldn't be able to see the pr0n...err, I mean diagrams with your linux tutorials. :
shagzomatic is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
How about start X and then start FF? Does Ubuntu Server have X-windows on it at all? If not, can I install it?

I had my server running on Ubuntu Desktop but I didn't like that it started into Gnome automatically. There didn't seem to be a way to have just boot to CLI so I installed Ubuntu Server.

I don't like running the CLI from the window manager. That just doesn't seem l337 at all. Do you other Linux users on here run the CLI from within Gnome/K?

I want to learn the CLI but I still want to get to my pr0n...crap! i mean linux tutorials.
daotan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 10:23 AM
`beer?
 
walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,912
 
Send a message via MSN to walker Send a message via Yahoo to walker
Quote:
Originally Posted by daotan View Post
How about start X and then start FF? Does Ubuntu Server have X-windows on it at all? If not, can I install it?

I had my server running on Ubuntu Desktop but I didn't like that it started into Gnome automatically. There didn't seem to be a way to have just boot to CLI so I installed Ubuntu Server.

I don't like running the CLI from the window manager. That just doesn't seem l337 at all. Do you other Linux users on here run the CLI from within Gnome/K?

I want to learn the CLI but I still want to get to my pr0n...crap! i mean linux tutorials.
Code:
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
that will install x but it's a meta package including a bunch of other stuff as well.

if you want to use cli give lynx a try
Code:
sudo apt-get install lynx
walker is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 11:59 AM
doomsday machine
 
shagzomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,971
   
Actually, you may want to get the elinks package instead of lynx -- more features and it supports ssl
shagzomatic is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 03:37 PM
we meat again
 
valerossi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LP's Bunghole
Posts: 14,712
  
01011001011011110111010100100000011000010111001001 10010100100000011000010110110001101100001000000110 01110110010101100101011010110111001100100001


:comperror


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

¤ più forte non si può . WLF viva la figa
¤ In 2006 I lost because of bad luck; I still won the most races and was the fastest on track for most of the time... Last year I was sorry that
after so many successful years, some people thought Valentino was finished and Casey was the new Valentino. ~ The Doctor '08
valerossi is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
01101001011100100110111101101110011010010110111001 100111
daotan is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by walker View Post
Code:
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
doing this now and it looks like firefox is part of the bunch of other stuff, thanks!
daotan is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
ok done, now what?
daotan is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 08:02 AM
doomsday machine
 
shagzomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,971
   
You'll either need to manually start X or initialize to a runlevel where X is set to run.

Code:
startx
does the trick for getting x running in most distros.
shagzomatic is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagzomatic View Post
You'll either need to manually start X or initialize to a runlevel where X is set to run.

Code:
startx
does the trick for getting x running in most distros.
tried that, didn't work so i installed windows :

my powerbook is out of commission so i need a machine to surf on, i'll rebuild the linux server with 7.10 after i fix the mac

thanks all
daotan is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 09:33 AM
`beer?
 
walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,912
 
Send a message via MSN to walker Send a message via Yahoo to walker
Quote:
Originally Posted by daotan View Post
tried that, didn't work so i installed windows :

my powerbook is out of commission so i need a machine to surf on, i'll rebuild the linux server with 7.10 after i fix the mac

thanks all
you should have loaded the gui version of ubuntu...
walker is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
meat popsicle
 
daotan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,090
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by walker View Post
you should have loaded the gui version of ubuntu...
disc was at work, any OS with a GUI sucks on this laptop, its pretty old
daotan is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-23-2007, 07:16 PM
doomsday machine
 
shagzomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,971
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by daotan View Post
disc was at work, any OS with a GUI sucks on this laptop, its pretty old
Try picking a less resource-intensive desktop manager, like blackbox or fluxbox....or if you're using something like gnome or kde, kill all the eye candy. that's the stuff that'll suck your system dry.

I've run Debian Sarge with fluxbox on a machine of about a 1997 vintage....without it being at a kick-the-machine-off-the-desk level of slowness. :comperror :
shagzomatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sport Bike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome