G33K [email protected] All your geek questions are belong to us.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
FAsT BOYS
 
Snair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salt Lake
Posts: 6,095
  
resize

how do i resize in windows vista? rinn gave me a link before but it says something else. thanks
Snair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 10:06 PM
No Crying Allowed
 
R1Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 20,229
   
I think that was me....

VSO image re sizer



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R1Lover is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
FAsT BOYS
 
Snair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salt Lake
Posts: 6,095
  
thanks R1Lover. hey can i have some brown for your forum please!!!
Snair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 08:02 AM
Gang Green
 
GreenEnvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,113
 
built in paint also does it too.

Open the pic in paint, go to image, stretch/skew, and enter in a percentage. Works fine if you don't need to know the exact % to shrink it, just want it smaller.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GreenEnvy is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 03:26 PM Thread Starter
FAsT BOYS
 
Snair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Salt Lake
Posts: 6,095
  
thanks
Snair is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 07:10 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,325
   
If you want to resize a large batch of photos here's a tutorial I found on the interwebs, I was actually starting to do one myself but then I realized after becoming bored that there probably exist a gazillion of tutorials on this subject already.

This tutorial talks about thumbnails but you don't need to make those, you can also choose to set the height and or the width of your batch.

using the action and batch commands you could also include a watermark (you you don't have to do that manually.

Sometimes though it can be a good idea to put portrait and landscape pics in different folders

Quote:
Using the Photoshop Actions and batch command to resize images.

In this tutorial, we’ll learn how to create a custom action and use Photoshop’s batch command to process a group of images to a certain size. This is a fairly simple tutorial, but does require some Photoshop knowledge.

For this tutorial, we are going to create a group of thumbnail images for a website gallery,
So we are going to convert all our images to small jpg’s.

Here we go….

First off, we need to do a little prep work. And believe me, this prep work can save you a lot of problems in the long run.

We need to decide how big our thumbnails are going to be. Also, we need to decide whether or not to resize them by height, or by width. I’ll explain at the end of the tutorial. Since we are making thumbnails, we are going to make them all 150 pixels wide.

Before we go into Photoshop, we are going to create two different folders. For this tutorial, we’ll create the folders “original” and “thumbnails”. It doesn’t matter where they go, as long as you can remember where they are.

Next, copy all the images you want to resize to the “original” folder. Notice that I said COPY. It’s always better to work on copies of your images, rather than the originals. That way if something happens, you always have a backup copy of your original images.

When you copy your images, I recommend you copy them all to the root directory in the “original” folder, don’t use any subfolders. This you’ll ensure that you have no duplicate images, or images with the same filename.

Let’s get into Photoshop.

First we need to open an image. Any image will due for now. We are only going to use it to create our Actions.

Now, let’s create a new action set. To do this, we click on the folder icon in the Actions panel. Let’s name this set “Custom”. I like to keep my custom actions in their own set, so I can find them easier later on.



Next we need to create a new action. Click the “create new action” icon in the Actions panel. This is signified by the icon that looks like a piece of paper with a curled edge.



Let’s name this Action “Resize 150 W” because we are going to resize the image to 150 pixels wide. *Note: As soon as you create a new Action, your action starts recording, so go directly to the next step without doing anything else.

To resize the image: Go to IMAGE --> RESIZE IMAGE. This will open the “Image Size” dialog box. Now let’s change the width of our image to 150 pixels wide. Then click “OK”.



Now immediately after you click “OK”. Go to FILE --> SAVE FOR WEB. Set your jpg parameters how you normally would and click save. Make sure you save this file in the “thumbnails” folder that we created. You can name the file anything you want.

Next we need to stop recording our Action. Click the “Stop recording” icon in the Actions panel. This is the little square button. Our new Action is complete, and ready to use. Now we are ready to process our images.



Go to your “Thumbnails” folder and delete the image you saved there when you created your action. This is just so it doesn’t get mixed in with the images you’re processing.

In Photoshop, go to FILE --> AUTOMATE --> BATCH.

In the “Batch” Dialog box, we need to set our options. The batch options are fairly straight forward, so I’ll only touch on the ones I feel need some explanation.

The “Play” section. Change your set to “Custom”. And your Action to “Resize 150 W” this sets the Action you created earlier.

Set the “Source” option to “Folder”. Then click the “Choose” button and select the folder you created called “Original”.

The “Source” Section. Since we did not create an “Open” Command in our Action, we need to make sure the “Override Action “Open” Commands” is NOT checked. The “Include Subfolders” option doesn’t matter. The “Suppress file Open Options Dialog” should be checked. And the “Suppress Color Profile Warnings” should be checked.

The “Destination” Section. The “Destination” should be set to “Folder”. Click on the “Choose” button and select the folder you created called “thumbnails”. Make sure the “Override Action “Save As” command” is checked. In the “File Naming” Section. Set the first box to “Document Name” and the second box to “Extension”. This is an option you can play around with, but make sure that the last part of the naming is set to “Extension”

Now, to process your images, just click “Ok”



And that’s it.

Before you actually put this Tutorial to use Please check over the notes I’ve put below.

NOTES:

IMPORTANT NOTE ON PERFORMANCE

The amount of files you can batch process at one time is affected in several different ways:
1. The size of the files being processed.
2. The Processor Speed of your computer.
3. The amount of RAM available to Photoshop.
Don’t expect to jump right in a batch process 100 different images at once. Start out slow. Try, let’s say, 10 files the first time and see how your computer responds. If everything goes ok, then start increasing the amount from there.
Trying to batch too many files at once can cause your computer to slow down, freeze up, or crash altogether. You have been warned.

When you Batch a group of images this way, you do not have to worry about what type of images they are. If Photoshop can open them, they will be processed.

Here’s the reason why we needed to decide how to resize our images. We want all our images to be consistently the same size and maintain their aspect ratio, so they look like the original, only smaller. However, we can only do this in one direction. When you execute the image size command in an Action. The action will only change the dimension that you have changed in the “Image Size” dialog box.

I hope you find this tutorial useful.

This is my first tutorial, so If you see anything I missed, or don't understand the way I explained something, please let me know.

Tsion

*EDIT*

Forgot to mention that this tutorial will work in Photoshop CS and Photoshop 7. Been too long since I've used anything earlier than 7 so I don't remember if it'll work in anything below version 7.
ffwf is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 08:18 AM
HillBilly
 
KWComp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 513
 
Send a message via AIM to KWComp Send a message via Yahoo to KWComp
I have been using Batch It Pro....its not free, but kick azz program

www.batchimage.com
KWComp is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 08:42 AM
doomsday machine
 
shagzomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 3,971
   
I use...........a PHP script I wrote.
shagzomatic is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 09:24 AM
HillBilly
 
KWComp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 513
 
Send a message via AIM to KWComp Send a message via Yahoo to KWComp
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagzomatic View Post
I use...........a PHP script I wrote.

I ll stick with what I have, if I tried writing something like that I would probably end up doing this
KWComp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sport Bike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
resize? Snair G33K [email protected] 5 11-23-2006 04:05 AM
Can somone resize a gif? R1Nomad Media 2 04-18-2006 08:18 AM
resize? Snair G33K [email protected] 14 01-22-2006 02:20 AM
resize Snair G33K [email protected] 8 06-29-2005 11:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome