Yamaha Yamaha Sport Bike Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 67
 
03 R1 Hazard Lights

So yesterday I had to take my 03 R1 in for its first MOT - its 04 registered so April 22nd was its 3rd birthday (for those that don't know the MOT is a road-worthiness certificate that has to be done annually in the UK on vehicles reaching 3 yrs old).
Passed with no problems but the guy makes a notification on the certificate - hazard lights don't work. I said "Yes they do", turned on the ignition, put on the left indicator (doesn't matter which) then clicked the hazard light switch, and as expected all 4 indicators flash. The guy says "They should work by just clicking the hazard switch". So I get home, look in my owners manual, and Yammie make no mention at all of hazard lights, let alone how to work them!
Can someone out there confirm that's how they are supposed to work (i.e. put one indicator on then click the hazard switch to turn the hazards on). Cheers!
:gun
UK_David is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 08:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 84
 
I could be wrong but i don't think the US bikes had hazard lights.
KirbyR1 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 08:31 PM
No Crying Allowed
 
R1Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 20,229
   
None on us bikes...



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R1Lover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 11:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 67
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by R1LOVER View Post
None on us bikes...
Ahhh... didn't know that. So it looks as if I got a US manual hence no mention.

The question still remains to any UK R1 owners - Do you have to put an indicator on then click the hazard switch or do Ihave a problem?
UK_David is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 01:05 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 45
 
i've got an 02 r1 never even knew there was hazard lights haha. Wheres' the hazard light switch and i'll test it for you????
r1gr8t1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 01:57 AM
Team America Support Crew
 
Warp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Thailand
Posts: 7,039
  
Send a message via Yahoo to Warp Racer
My 04R1 (Middle East/Euro spec) has a dedicated button, its a bit odd how you have to do that sequence


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ONCE YOU'VE HAD ASIAN, YOU WILL NEVER TOUCH CAUCASIAN
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
OLD AGE AND TREACHERY WILL ALWAYS OVERCOME YOUTH AND ENTHUSIASM
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Warp Racer is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 67
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1gr8t1 View Post
i've got an 02 r1 never even knew there was hazard lights haha. Wheres' the hazard light switch and i'll test it for you????
Big red button on LH cluster - can't miss it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warp Racer View Post
My 04R1 (Middle East/Euro spec) has a dedicated button, its a bit odd how you have to do that sequence
Yeah - I thought it was odd, but as they work by doing that sequence and then how often I would use then the question is can I be arsed changing it...: Probably not - I wuz just interested if he was right.
UK_David is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 45
 
Mmmm i must take a look hehe
never needed it before
r1gr8t1 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-2007, 07:39 PM
Team America Support Crew
 
Warp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Thailand
Posts: 7,039
  
Send a message via Yahoo to Warp Racer
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK_David View Post
Yeah - I thought it was odd, but as they work by doing that sequence and then how often I would use then the question is can I be arsed changing it...: Probably not - I wuz just interested if he was right.
Surprised myself and sure if it works don't fix it, but I'm wondering if you having the switch where it is and it is located in the same switch cluster, maybe its a factory cockup. Generally as a rule you would think that the Hazard switch would be indpendent of other switching gear. Let me know what you find out. Cheers :corn


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ONCE YOU'VE HAD ASIAN, YOU WILL NEVER TOUCH CAUCASIAN
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
OLD AGE AND TREACHERY WILL ALWAYS OVERCOME YOUTH AND ENTHUSIASM
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Warp Racer is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 08:02 PM
Petronas Yamaha?
 
MotoGPracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 1,408
 
On the old GPz's, you just hit the hazzard switch. No Key needed. Just like a car, Why would you leave your key behind if your stranded some where...........
Dam UK Yamaha's
MotoGPracing is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-29-2007, 03:07 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 36
 
On a lot of bikes you have to put the key to the acc point (gsxr is like that I belive)... you can take your key out then and just your tail light running light and hazards stay on
frogslinger is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-28-2007, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
 
mine doesnt have hazard lights
r1nsho is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sport Bike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Christmas Lights and Tree Thread R1Lover Anything Goes 55 12-11-2007 10:01 PM
Lights. Belgium Anything Goes 5 10-30-2006 10:03 PM
Tail lights OffSett Anything Goes 14 12-13-2005 09:12 AM
Ultimate Christmas Lights... DeFlankoDesigns Media 5 12-02-2005 02:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome