Anything Goes Self explanatory forum name... (No NWS)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2006, 04:12 PM Thread Starter

Buying a used car at the dealership

Since I have no experience with that whatsoever as I obviously prefer private parties... tell me what service I'd be paying extra for? I need to buy a car for my elderly parents in Cleveland and register it on my name with their address. I'm in Cali. Will the dealer do it for me coz the max I can stay there is a couple of days. Unfortunately I don't have many relatives in Cleveland other than other elderly people. So I'm looking at going to the dealership and doing all the paperwork there. Is this how it works? Plus I'll have to dispose of the old car: donate it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2006, 04:20 PM
Resident Redneck

Send a message via Skype™ to Biga
Sell the the old car to a junk yard, at least you will get a few $$$ for it.

Dealers will usually try to stick you for every little extra expense, try to get some type of warranty, so if something goes wrong with the car your folks are not stuck with the bill, make sure the car is in good running order and everything has been properly serviced before you pick up the car.

Otherwise good luck, cause I have never had any with used cars.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2006, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

I do understand stealers are necessary evil, but unfortunately I can't spend my vacation in Cleveland. Junk yards... never dealt with them either. Basically all I need is a one-stop place... I don't think high-mileage Civics (the only car I have in mind) needs any warranty, but what do I know about them: Civics with automatic transmission.