Anything Goes Self explanatory forum name... (No NWS)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
phil-osepher

MBA programs?

This kind of goes along with Rinn's thread, I'm due to finish school Aug 12th... I'm looking at moving straight into an MBA program that will last 17 months.

Anyone have any experience with getting their MBA? I realize that getting it won't magically make some 20% raise appear, but it will help down the road, especially setting myself apart from similar candidates for future higher level jobs.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 11:41 AM

Dunno about US but can't see it being much different from the UK. I got a bachelors with honors in Software Development (Programming) which did me lots of good in terms of job opportunities, but if I had the MBA as well (which I don't) I know it would give me the opportunity to go for better things. I say if its only 17 months then that's not a lot to give up - go for it!
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 12:47 PM
don't read this

Send a message via AIM to rinn Send a message via Yahoo to rinn
from people I have talked to there are good and bad things with an MBA..

Good: You usually get a raise for it and advancement can be faster because you have had higher schooling..

Bad: Sometimes companies won't hire you because MBA's demand to high of salaries and when companies do lay-offs MBA's are most likely to be the ones getting fired because they have higher salaries and the company can higher someone with a bachelors degree and pay them half the MBA salary..