Racing MotoGP, WSBK, BSB, AMA, F1, WRC, DTM, NASCAR, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-03-2006, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Resident Redneck
Biga's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: On This Forum
Posts: 9,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Biga
*** Spoiler *** SBK Race 1 & 2

PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse’s Chris Walker gave Kawasaki their first World Superbike win in over six years with a last place to first place victory in the rain-hit first race in Assen, Holland.

The Englishman survived a first turn melee, but dropped to the back of the field and completed the first lap 25th out of 26 riders. From there he quickly worked his way forward, taking the lead from Yamaha Motor Italia’s Andrew Pitt on the 15th of 22 laps and pulling away. The margin of victory was 4.965 seconds.

Walker was one of 15 of 28 riders to finish the first race of the ninth round of the championship, held for the first time on the shortened Circuit van Drenthe.

Among the fallers were the top two championship contenders, Ducati Xerox’s Troy Bayliss and Yamaha Motor Italia’s Nori Haga. Bayliss went down on the 11th of 22 laps, Haga followed two laps later. World Champion Troy Corser also fell, on lap seven, one lap after Team Pedercini’s Kurtis Roberts.

The only championship contender to survive the rain was Winston Ten Kate Honda’s James Toseland, who finished tenth, one spot behind teammate Karl Muggeridge.

With this afternoon’s second race, and three remaining rounds to be run, Bayliss continues to lead Haga by 77 points, 307 to 230. Toseland now has 225 in third.

The first lap was a mess which ended with Bayliss in the lead, and for the first three laps, then Corser for two laps, back to Bayliss for laps six and seven, and then Haga on lap eight.

By the 13th lap all three were gone and Andrew Pitt was in the lead, however briefly.

Walker took over from Pitt on lap 15 and led to the end, beating the Australian handily. D.F.X. Treme Honda’s Michel Fabrizio was third, 19 seconds back.

The three-way battle for fourth went to the end. PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse 2’s Fonsi Nieto took the spot from Yamaha Motor France-Ipo’s Norick Abe on the final lap, with Alstare England Corona Extra Suzuki’s Max Neukirchner a close sixth.

Ducati Xerox’s Lorenzo Lanzi, seventh, and Ducati SC-Caracchi’s Roby Rolfo, eighth, were a second apart.

The Winston Ten Kate Hondas filled out the top ten, Muggeridge in front of Toseland.

Among the other victims of the wet weather were Alstare Corona Extra Suzuki’s Yukio Kagayama, Sterilgarda-Berik Ducati’s Ruben Xaus, PSG-1 Kawasaki Corse’s Regis Laconia, Klaffi Honda’s Alex Barros, and D.F.X. Treme Honda’s Frankie Chili.

Walker’s win was the first for Kawasaki since Hitoyasu Izutzu’s double win as a wild card at Sugo in 2000. Before today, no winner of a World Superbike race had ever come from a start on the tail end of the grid and last out of turn one to record a win.

Race One:

1. Chris Walker (Kawasaki)

2. Andrew Pitt (Yamaha)

3. Michel Fabrizio (Honda)

4. Fonsi Nieto (Kawasaki)

5. Norick Abe (Yamaha)

6. Max Neukirchner (Suzuki)

7. Lorenzo Lanzi (Ducati)

8. Roby Rolfo (Ducati)

9. Karl Muggeridge (Honda)

10. James Toseland (Honda)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Biga is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-03-2006, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Resident Redneck
Biga's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: On This Forum
Posts: 9,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Biga
Ducati Xerox’s Troy Bayliss rebounded from a first race crash in the wet to dominate the second dry race and extend his championship lead to an even 100 points, at the end of a long day of racing at the Circuit van Drenthe in Assen, Holland, site of the ninth round of the World Superbike Championship.

After failing to score points in the wet race one, Bayliss came back with a vengeance in race two. He didn’t lead every lap-Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra’s Yukio Kagayama led laps four through ten of 22-but he led at the start and at the end and won big. His margin of victory was 9.342 seconds.

The win, coupled with a ninth place finish by Winston Ten Kate Honda’s James Toseland, gives Bayliss a lead of 100 points with only 150 up for grabs in the final three races. Bayliss could conceivably clinch his second World Superbike title at the next round at Eurospeedway Lausitz in Germany next week. Bayliss leads Toseland, 332 to 232. Yamaha Motor Italia’s Nori Haga, who carded a pair of DNF’s, is third at 230.

Haga, Toseland, and Alstare Suzuki Corona Extra’s Troy Corser were all involved in a first turn pileup. Toseland was the only one of the three to re-mount and continue.

Race Two:

1. Troy Bayliss (Ducati)

2. Andrew Pitt (Yamaha)

3. Fonsi Nieto (Kawasaki)

4. Yukio Kagayama (Suzuki)

5. Ruben Xaus (Ducati)

6. Lorenzo Lanzi (Ducati)

7. Alex Barros (Honda)

8. Regis Laconi (Kawasaki)

9. James Toseland (Honda)

10. Michel Fabrizio (Honda)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Biga is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-03-2006, 10:29 AM
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,712
Haga DFN 2nd race... hope he's not injuired...
valerossi is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Sport Bike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome